The Voice: Live Quarter-Final Performances and Eliminations

I’m switching my post up this week and writing about both the live show and the eliminations at once – and I won’t go into as much detail about the performances either. Instead I just want to share my thoughts on some of what went down (in no particular order).

RaeLynn’s performances of She’s Country – I’m a country music fan and I love this song, so I was excited to hear her version. And I must say, I think this was her best performance yet. She tends to do this thing where she really exaggerates her drawl, and I don’t understand it. I think I enjoyed this performance the most because she didn’t do as much of that.

Photo: starpulse.com

Team Christina’s performance of Stronger with their coach – Christina has been dressing so much better during the live shows – I’ve been very impressed! She looks great when she wears clothes that fit her appropriately and tones down the red lipstick. So why did she come out in a leotard? That was a major step backwards, in my opinion. I did enjoy her brief performance of Hillbilly Bone, complete with male stripped all over Blake. I also think Christina herself sounded good during her song, as did some of her team members (mostly Ashley).

Maroon 5’s performance of Payphone – Here’s some very simple math for you: I love Adam Levine, therefore I love Maroon 5, therefore this performance was automatically perfect. (I never said my math made sense…). That’s really all I have to say about that…

The idea of instant eliminations – It seems very sudden and harsh, but Adam made a good point when he said it gives the judges a little control over who they want to keep. But, at the same time, I’m not sure I really like it.

Photo: msn.com

The actual instant eliminations – Full disclosure: I read spoilers before watching the show and knew who was going home, but I still found this part of the show to be very stressful and very shocking. Mostly Christina’s choice. Jesse Campbell has been a favorite to win the entire show – a fact that Adam has pointed out every week. I was very surprised that she chose to send him home, but at the same time I think it’ll be ok. He’s clearly a phenomenal singer and has gotten tons of recognition from the show; I’m sure someone out there has already snatched him up and given him a record deal. That said, I would’ve preferred Lindsay get the boot. They all say her voice is mesmerizing, or something, but I just don’t hear it. I liked her at first, but I’ve been consistently underwhelmed by her performances. As for Blake, I wasn’t too surprised that he sent Jordis home. I really like her, but I can tell Blake’s loyalties lie elsewhere.

America’s saves – America saved Jermaine Paul and Chris Mann. First, I love Chris, so this was very pleasing. But Jermaine? Really? I mean he’s good, and this performance may have been his best, but what about little RaeLynn? It was her best one too!

The coaches’ saves – Christina chose to save Lindsay Pavao and sent Ashley De La Rosa home. Just like when she eliminated Jesse, Adam looked very surprised. I was too, actually. Ashley has been improving tremendously, and I thought her performance on Monday was far superior to Lindsay’s. Blake had a much harder time with his decision. In fact, that credits were rolling and Carson was begging him for a name before he made a decision. Blake’s favorites this whole time have seemed to be Erin and RaeLynn, and now he had to send one of them home, so I get why he was struggling. Ultimately he sent RaeLynn home; I’m curious to see how long it’ll take for her to get a record deal. She seems to be a fan favorite.

Photo: zap2it.com

The “world premiere” of Justin Bieber’s Girlfriend video – Talk about false advertising. I am adamantly against all things Bieber, with the exception of this song. I don’t know what it is about it, but I love it. But this “world premiere” they kept promising was about 30 seconds of the video. Psh. But, it looks like the Biebs will be on the finale performing the song live. Let’s home we get more than 30 seconds that time.

So what did you think of this week’s shows? Were you happy, sad, shocked, appalled? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a comment