Dancing With the Stars: Season 14

Dancing With the Stars is one of those shows I’ve always been interested in, would watch a couple episodes here and there when a celeb I liked was one, but never fully invested myself for various reasons. This season I decided to take the plunge, and for no particular reason really. I think the show has had better casts than this, but I guess it made sense now because of this blog.

DWTS also combines some of my favorite things: dancing (a la Grease and Dirty Dancing), fun costumes and celebs. What’s not to love?

Photo: ABC

This season got off to a great start Monday, with what the judges are calling the best opening night ever in the series’ 14 seasons.  I think some contestants could use more work, but overall I agree. Even the worst of the celebs up there, weren’t terrible. Gavin DeGraw was a little stiff and others were kind of awkward, but it’s the first night. They can only get better from here.

Before anyone started dancing, I was pulling for Maria Menounos and Derek Hough, but after seeing how excited Sherri Shepherd was on and off the dance floor, how can I not root for her and partner Val Chmerkovskiy? I was also really impressed with Donald Driver (with pro Peta Murgatroyd). The football players always seem to do really well on DWTS. I’m not sure if it’s because they are popular and get the most votes, or if their athleticism gives them an advantage. Either way, I can’t wait to see what the season brings.

Here are the current standings:
Jaleel & Kym – 26
Katherine & Mark – 26
William & Cheryl – 24
Gladys & Tristan – 23
Jack & Anna – 23
Roshon & Chelsie – 23
Sherri & Val – 23
Donald & Peta – 21
Maria & Derek – 21
Gavin & Karina – 20
Martina & Tony – 20
Melissa & Maks – 20

Beginning next week, I’ll evaluate each team and give my thoughts on the judges’ reaction.

4 thoughts on “Dancing With the Stars: Season 14

  1. Pingback: Martina Navratilova asks Howard Stern for Help « polentical

      • The contestants are supposed to be new to dancing, but I guess with the show’s popularity, every B, C, and even D star is investing in Dance lessons. I think I saw Scott Bayo at a dance class near the Pizza Hut I go to. Also Sherri was actually working with her partner on the show and that is cheating because they are supposed to be new to each other and the routines given to them the week before their performances.

Leave a Reply

