The Voice: The Blind Auditions, Part 5

Last week was a bit hectic and I was seriously slacking on my TV shows. Oops! I finally got around to watching the final episode of blind auditions – and just in time too, because battle rounds start tonight!

At the start of part 5 of the blind auditions, Cee Lo needed three people to finish his team while the other judges each needed two. Here’s a rundown on the final contestants.

Whitney Myer – Whitney is a funk/soul singer and is in a band with her dad and uncle. She was interesting; I liked her voice. I don’t know that it was a favorite of mine, but it was definitely good. All four judges turned around for her, there was some awkward Adam/Christina banter, but ultimately she chose Adam as her coach. He seemed to really want her, and I didn’t think a different judge would be better for her, so I’m ok with this decision.

The Shields Brothers – These guys were pretty strange, to me. They’re brothers and have a rock and roll band together – in fact, when explaining themselves and their music, they said “We really want to punch America in the face with rock and roll.” I’m not entirely sure what that means, but they seemed pretty set on it. They sang “Dancing with Myself,” which is one of my favorite songs, so they earned points with me there. Their performance was really intense for me, and even the judges could tell something crazy was going on behind them – Blake described it as “chaos,” which is pretty accurate. Cee Lo was the only judge to turn around; I’m interested to see how they do in the battle rounds.

Cheesa – I’m not really sure how I feel about her. Her voice seemed unnaturally deep at times, but at other times she was able to hit really high notes. She told Carson that she really wants Cee Lo to turn around for her, but while she was singing I was worried no one was going to turn. It sounded like she finished her song and Cee Lo looked upset that he didn’t turn, but then he realized she was still singing and pushed his button at the last second. I’m glad she got the judge she wanted, but I’m not sure she’s going to make it too far into the competition.

Lex Land – I like this girl’s name a lot, for some reason. She seemed really nervous in her pre-performance interview, which makes sense, but I was worried it was going to be a problem when she tried to sing. She did seem a bit nervous, but Cee Lo and Adam both turned around super early in her performance, followed later by Blake, so that’s good. I would think that once a judge has turned around, the nerves would subside a bit. But in her case, she got more nervous when the judges turned. Cee Lo even addressed this by saying he wished he waited a bit longer so he could hear her with more confidence. She chose Blake as her coach, which surprised me a bit, but hopefully it’ll work out well for her.

Orlando Napier – Carson surprised Orlando in person with his invitation, and we learned that he was a partier from ages 13 to 23 (I don’t think he’s much older than that now). His father plays sax in a band with him, and he said if he makes it a few rounds into the show he wants to bring his dad on to play sax while he sings. Kudos to him for thinking ahead, I guess. When he performed, Adam turned his chair almost immediately and was the only one to do so. I like Orlando’s voice, so I’m glad he was the one to take Adam’s last open spot.

Lee Koch – This guy was interesting…I didn’t love his voice, but I didn’t hate it either. For his day job, he’s a baker, and he said this was really his last ditch effort to make a singing career. It looked like no one was going to turn, but near the end of his performance he started playing the harmonica and Christina immediately pushed her button. They’re an interesting combination, but maybe that’ll yield good results for him.

Wade – I found it very interesting that Wade chose to sing Rehab by Amy Winehouse. I’m not sure it was the best song choice because it kind of sounded like he was screaming rather than singing, but at the same time there were moments when I could tell he had a good voice. Cee Lo was the only judge to turn, so Wade took the last spot on his team.

Adley Stump – I like this girl’s name a lot (that seems to be a theme with me). She has only been singing for 10 months, but she isn’t bad! She sang a Carrie Underwood song, which of course meant everyone was waiting on Blake to deem her worthy. Her voice was nowhere near Carrie’s level, but really, who’s is? Blake and Christina ended up turning around at the same time right near the end, and Adley’s mom nearly knocked Carson over by jumping on him. The funniest judge banter of the night was during this section of the show; I’ll summarize it: Christina told Adley she has chops, Blake asked what that even means, she said he doesn’t know because he’s not a real vocalist, then she said she was kidding and they’ll still go fishing together, and Blake said “Good, I’m gonna drown you.” THEN, Adam told Blake that he’s a damn good vocalist, to which Blake said “Thank you, I love you.” Adam told Blake he loves him too in a totally non-sexual way, and Blake said “I can’t say the same.” Anyway! Back to the point – Adley picked Blake as her coach, which seemed fitting. She took the last slot on his team.

Sera Hill – I really like Sera’s personality! She’s very upbeat and peppy, but not in an annoying way. She also has an amazing voice and secured the last spot on Christina’s team. In a typical awkward Christina moment, she got up on stage and started singing a song with Sera. I could’ve done without that, especially since this show is supposed to be about the contestants, not the multi-Grammy-winning artists who coach them. Just saying.

So next up is part one of the battle rounds! Based on the preview, it looks like we’re going to see lots of major musicians coming by to help mentor the singers. Personally, I’m looking forward to see Miranda come on and work alongside her hubby.

Now that the teams are finished, do you have any favorites? In you want to take a look back, here are the contestants from the blind auditions part one, part two, part three and part four.

2 thoughts on “The Voice: The Blind Auditions, Part 5

  1. Pingback: The Voice: The Battles Begin |

  2. Pingback: The Voice: The Battles, Week 2 |

Leave a Reply

