The Voice: The Blind Auditions, Part 4

Monday night, we got yet another dose of blind auditions on The Voice. Here’s who we met.

Jonathas – This young father of two had very cute children with him, including a very fashion forward 8-month-old son. He sang Usher’s “U Got It Bad” and sounded amazing! As he sang, I was thinking how he sounded almost exactly like Usher – Adam even made that comment to Blake while their backs were turned. Cee Lo was the first to turn, followed by Christina. I was actually surprised Adam didn’t turn around, especially since he acknowledged how good Jonathas sounded. I was certain he was going to choose Cee Lo as his coach once they started bonding over their fancy watches, but I was wrong. He chose Christina after saying “I was in 5th grade when Genie in a Bottle came out. I’ve always had the hots for you.” I hope his wife is ok with this pairing.

Monique Benabou – I thought her speaking voice was kind of different, which made me think her singing voice would be too. It wasn’t, but it wasn’t bad either. While their backs were turned, Blake told Christina that she could do something with this girl, which prompted Christina to push her button right away. No one else turned around, so Monique is on Team Christina. And as Blake pointed out, Christina is the best female vocalist of this generation, so Monique didn’t get herself a half bad coach. And bonus points to Blake for playing nice with Christina!

Naia Kete – Naia is a street performer in California and Carson surprised her mid-performance. Interestingly, her boyfriend was standing behind her and seemed completely unaware of what was happening, like it was an everyday thing or something. Naia appears to come from a very dreadlock-friendly family – her mother, brother and sister were all sporting the look. I like her voice; Blake turned around right away, followed by Cee Lo. After some flirting (from both parties) between her and Cee Lo, she ultimately picked Blake as her judge. That surprised me a little, I won’t lie. But I don’t hate it.

Charlotte Sometimes – Okay… so I find this one to be a very strange situation. I did not like her voice at all – in fact, she sounded like one of those awful contestants on American Idol that they bring on just to make fun of. So imagine my surprised with ALL FOUR judges turned around for her! My friend (who was watching with me) thought maybe it was the song choice that I didn’t agree with, but I’m not sure. Anyway, there was some bickering between Christina and Adam, resulting in Cee Lo suggesting they get a room and even offering his own house for them. Christina seemed very disgusted by this, which is just silly to me because anyone who has seen Adam’s face cannot be grossed out by it! Since I didn’t like this girl at all, I didn’t have any idea who I wanted her to pick as her coach. She ended up choosing Blake, which did seem like the strangest of all the choices. I hope I hate her voice less when I hear her sing next.

Tony Vincent – Tony is a Broadway star, which pretty much guaranteed to me that he would have an amazing voice. He sang “We are the Champions” and ROCKED it, as far as I’m concerned. Cee Lo was the only judge to turn around, which made zero sense to me especially considering the outcome of the previous performance. Tony seemed a little disappointed that he didn’t get more judges to turn, and I can’t say I blame him. I’m not sure Cee Lo is the best choice for him, but hopefully he’ll stick around for awhile.

Anthony Evans – Anthony comes from a very religious background; his father is some hotshot minister in Texas. He doesn’t like to identify as a gospel artist or a Christian artist, he likes to identify as “Anthony.” I’m not really sure what that means, but that’s ok. He had a nice voice, nothing special but definitely good. Christina was the only one to turn for him…I think there are better contestants out there, but this guy seems very positive and happy, so I hope he does well.

Jamie Lono – I like this guy a lot! He sang “Folsom Prison Blues” and got Adam to turn around very quickly, followed by Cee Lo. His voice was interesting to me…I loved it immediately, then it got a little weird, then good again. I guess a better way to describe it is “unique.” Despite his funny interaction with Cee Lo about sandwiches, I was hoping he would pick Adam as his coach. He didn’t, though.

Justin Hopkins – Justin used to be part of Carson’s house band on his show, and he has a very cute kid (that seems to be a theme…). I really liked his voice, and yet he only got Cee Lo to turn around. That worked out well though because Cee Lo was the coach he wanted to have.

Nicolle Galyon – As someone named Nicole, I must say that spelling it with two L’s is ridiculous…but I won’t hold that against her as a singer. She brought her 10-year-old brother, who was incredibly excited for her, which was sweet. Her thing is that she considers herself to be a country-type artist, but she plays the piano instead of the guitar. I don’t see this as an issue, but apparently it has held her back. Adam was the only judge to turn around for her.

Ashley De La Rosa, Jordan Rager, Karla Davis and ALyX – We didn’t see these performances, but apparently Ashley is with Christina, Jordan is with Blake, Karla is with Adam and ALyX is with Blake.

Mathai – I like this girl a lot. She has a great voice and was a very confident performer, but I did not care for her outfit. She skipped college to pursue singing, which her parents were too thrilled about, but they supported her. Adam turned around first and fast, followed by Blake and Cee Lo. Everyone seemed very impressed by her voice and performance, and she chose Adam as her coach, which is who I was hoping she would choose.

Do you have any favorites yet? I have a few, but I’ll wait until the teams are finished to share. If you still need to catch up on the blind auditions, you can read my posts one part one, two and three.

3 thoughts on “The Voice: The Blind Auditions, Part 4

  1. Pingback: The Voice: The Blind Auditions, Part 5 |

  2. Pingback: The Voice: The Battles Begin |

  3. Pingback: The Voice: The Battles, Week 2 |

Leave a Reply

