2012 People’s Choice Awards

Ahh, awards season is upon us! First up: the People’s Choice Awards. This particular awards show is a nice way to ease into the season. It covers all mediums, is the least stuffy, tries its hardest to make things fun and, best of all, is voted on by the people.

Note: We’re sharing our picks for who we want to win, not necessarily who we think will win. Enjoy, and let us know in the comments who you’re rooting for!

Favorite Network TV Drama
The Good Wife
Grey’s Anatomy
House
Supernatural
The Vampire Diaries

Nicole: I’ve been a loyal Grey’s fan from the start, but I’ve recently started watching The Good Wife and it’s AMAZING! I’m not completely caught up yet, but it definitely gets my vote this year.

Katie: The only show on this list I watch regularly is Grey’s, so it gets my vote. I’ve dedicated way too many years to these characters for them not to win.

Favorite TV Drama Actor
David Boreanaz
Hugh Laurie
Ian Somerhalder
Nathan Fillion
Patrick Dempsey

Nicole: I’m torn between David Boreanaz and Nathan Fillion…but I think I’ll go with Nathan this year.

Katie: Oh McDreamy, that smile never gets old. Patrick Dempsey all the way!

Favorite TV Drama Actress
Blake Lively
Ellen Pompeo
Emily Deschanel
Eva Longoria
Nina Dobrev

Nicole: Emily Deschanel for the win. She plays an awkward scientist so well

Katie: I don’t particularly think any of these ladies are fantastic actresses, so once again, I’m going with the Grey’s choice. Ellen Pompeo, you get my vote.

Favorite Cable TV Drama
Dexter
Game of Thrones
Pretty Little Liars
True Blood
White Collar

Nicole: OMG this is really difficult…Game of Thrones was really good, but I’m a diehard Dexter fan. I’d be happy either way, but I’ll pick Dexter as my winner.

Katie: I hear Game of Thrones, True Blood and White Collar are great shows, but Dexter gets me every time. Even with a down season, I want them to walk away with the award.

Favorite Network TV Comedy
The Big Bang Theory
Glee
How I Met Your Mother
Modern Family
Two and a Half Men

Nicole: Tough call, but I think my vote has to go with Modern Family. I can’t get enough of the Pritchett/Dunphy families!

Katie: Glee is the only nominated show I watch, so I would like to see them win, but Modern Family will most definitely walk away the winner.

Favorite TV Comedy Actor
Alec Baldwin
Chris Colfer
Cory Monteith
Jim Parsons
Neil Patrick Harris

Nicole: How am I supposed to choose between Cory Monteith and Neil Patrick Harris?! I suppose I’ll go with Cory (I’m sorry Neil, you know I love you!)

Katie: Clearly Cory Monteith is my choice. Does a character get any better than Finn?

Favorite TV Comedy Actress
Courteney Cox
Jane Lynch
Kaley Cuoco
Lea Michele
Tina Fey

Nicole: Tina Fey – I’ve always been a huge fan, so she gets my vote.

Katie: I find Jane Lynch to be annoying and Kaley Cuoco’s show to be weird and unfunny, so I’d be fine with any of the other ladies winning here – no strong feelings either way.

Favorite Cable TV Comedy
Hot In Cleveland
It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia
Nurse Jackie
Royal Pains
Weeds

Nicole: Weeds! Uncle Andy alone deserves more recognition!

Katie: Definitely Weeds – just when the show started to slump, they surprised us.

Favorite TV Competition Show
American Idol
America’s Got Talent
Dancing With The Stars
So You Think You Can Dance
The Voice

Nicole: The Voice, definitely. It’s the only reality show I’m willing to watch!

Katie: Ehh reality TV is not my thing (unless you’re a Kardashian or part of the MTV family). I would like to see Dancing with the Stars win just because it’s the most tolerable.

Favorite TV Crime Drama
Bones
Castle
Criminal Minds
CSI
NCIS

Nicole: Yikes…similar to my Boreanaz/Fillion conflict, I have a Bones/Castle conflict. Ideally, I would vote for both, but I suppose now I’ll choose…Bones?

Katie: There is a reason NCIS is the most watched show on TV right now. Gibbs? DiNozzo? Abby? Amazing.

Favorite Sci-Fi/Fantasy Show
Fringe
Supernatural
True Blood
The Vampire Diaries
The Walking Dead

Nicole: The only show on this list that I watch is True Blood, so it gets my vote. BUT I’ve heard The Walking Dead is amazing, so I wouldn’t be surprised to see that win.

Katie: Similar to reality TV, sci-fi is not my thing… and never has been. I’ll say Fringe because I still have a thing for Pacey Witter.

Favorite Daytime TV Host
Al Roker, Ann Curry, Matt Lauer, Natalie Morales, Savannah Guthrie, The Today Show
Anderson Cooper, Anderson
Ellen DeGeneres, The Ellen DeGeneres Show
Kelly Ripa, Regis Philbin, Live with Regis & Kelly
Rachael Ray, Rachael Ray Show

Nicole: Ellen DeGeneres will get my vote until the end of time. LOVE her!

Katie: I’m a little stuck here. As much as I love Kelly and Rege, I LOVE Ellen. Hmm… can they tie?

Favorite Late Night TV Host
Conan O’Brien, Conan
David Letterman, Late Show with David Letterman
Jay Leno, The Tonight Show with Jay Leno
Jimmy Fallon, Late Night with Jimmy Fallon
Jimmy Kimmel, Jimmy Kimmel Live

Nicole: Similarly, Jimmy Fallon will get my vote until the end of time as well.

Katie: If only the rest of these guys could be half as funny as Jimmy Fallon. Clear winner; clearly the best.

Favorite TV Guest Star
Gwyneth Paltrow, Glee
Jim Carrey, The Office
Katy Perry, How I Met Your Mother
Kristin Chenoweth, Glee
Michael J. Fox, The Good Wife

Nicole: Oooh, this is hard. I think I’ll go with Gwyneth, though.

Katie: Gwyneth’s guest role on Glee made her SO much more likable, plus she was surprisingly great. She gets my vote!

Favorite TV Celebreality Star
Gene Simmons
Giuliana Rancic
Kathy Griffin
Kim Kardashian
Tia & Tamera Mowry

Nicole: Er..none of the above? I guess Giuliana, if I have to choose.

Katie: I watch the Kardashians out of intrigue, but find them to be so annoying. Giuliana, please!

Favorite New TV Drama
A Gifted Man
Grimm
Hart of Dixie
Once Upon A Time
Pan Am
Person of Interest
Prime Suspect
Revenge
Ringer
The Secret Circle
Terra Nova
Unforgettable

Nicole: I actually really like A Gifted Man. I know it’s another medical drama, but I just love Patrick Wilson so much 🙂

Katie: I’m a little torn here: I do not miss an episode of Hart of Dixie, Revenge or Unforgettable. I’m going to say Hart of Dixie because it reminds me of the old school WB shows of the past.

Favorite New TV Comedy
2 Broke Girls
Allen Gregory
Last Man Standing
Man Up!
New Girl
Suburgatory
Up All Night
Whitney

Nicole: Hands down, absolutely no contest: NEW GIRL! I can’t get enough of this show – it deserves every single award it gets nominated for!

Katie: New Girl and Suburgatory both took some warming up to, but now that I’ve watched, I’m hooked. I think New Girl will win, but I’m good with either one.

Leave a Reply

