The 63rd Annual Primetime Emmy Awards

Award season is finally here! So many dresses, so many celebrities…how can anyone not love it?!

We both watched the preshow and did some research online to compile lists of our favorite and least favorite fashions of the evening. And of course we have opinions on the winners and losers of the evening.

The Red Carpet Fashions: Nicole’s Opinions

I have opinions on every dress I saw, but in an effort to keep this post at a manageable length, I’ll only highlight my absolute favorites and least favorites.

My Favorite Styles of the Night (in no particular order)

  • Cobie Smulders – I thought her dress was a gorgeous shade of blue and it looked fantastic on her!
  • Sofia Vergara – Vera Wang definitely agrees with Sofia! I’m not usually a fan of red on the red carpet, but this dress was beautiful and it fit her really well. I also liked her emerald earrings, but I think I could’ve done without the chandelier effect. The emeralds were huge, so I think they would’ve been a statement on their own.
  • Jennifer Westfeldt – Canary yellow can be risky but in this case I thought it was perfect. I like bold colors and this was definitely bold. The cut was beautiful too – this dress was definitely a winner in my book!
  • Dianna Agron – Another beautiful shade of blue! I liked the high neckline and thought it looked great on her.
  • Kaley Cuoco – I’m a big fan of black, but I know it’s considered safe for a red carpet. Still, though, I think Kaley’s dress was really nice. The sheer one shoulder accent made it more fun than if it was just plain black. I also liked her reddish orange clutch and shoes. They added a nice pop of color to the look.
  • Zooey Deschanel – At first glance I thought I didn’t like this dress, but ultimately I decided I did. It was simple, but it looked really nice on her.

 

My Least Favorite Styles of the Night (again, in no particular order)

  • Taraji P. Henson – I think it was the top half of this dress that really turned me off. I didn’t like the spaghetti straps and I don’t think it fit her all that well.
  • Julianna Margulies – I have no idea what was going on with the top half of this dress. The bulbous marble looking things were strange and the dress sat kind of far off of her body. I think she’s had better looks in the past.
  • Christina Hendricks – Another one who has done better in the past. I don’t think this dress looked great on her, and her shoes seemed too big and too low.
  • Amy Poehler – I’m a huge fan of Amy, but I didn’t love this dress when I saw her on the red carpet. I will say that during the show I got a better view and didn’t hate it as much, but it still wasn’t a winner for me.
  • Heidi Klum – Part of me thinks this dress kind of worked on her, but I still didn’t like it. The poufy flowers on the hem were a bit much for me.
  • Nina Dobrev – I’ve noticed today that she made a lot of best dressed lists, but I didn’t care for her dress. When they zoomed in on it, the fabric looked very thick and quilt-like.

 

The Red Carpet Fashions: Katie’s Opinions

The only more fun than seeing who won awards was watching the E! pre-show for the fashion. There were some major hits and misses this year! Here are some of the dresses I loved and some that needed a little work…

My Favorite Styles of the Night (in no particular order)

  • Brooke Charvet (Burke) – Everything about this dress is gorgeous and it fits her so well. I love the color, I love the style, I love the train, and the list goes on. The big trend was red this year, so Brooke definitely stood out!
  •  Jane Lynch – I’m not usually a fan of Jane’s, but I thought the dress she picked for the Red Carpet was perfect for her: simple, elegant, great color and age-appropriate.
  • Evan Rachel Wood – Here’s another dress that was so simple, yet gorgeous. The sparkles made this classic black dress stand out, while the low cut back added a little bit of fun. Not impressed with the hair low. Side note: girls should never have boy haircuts.
  • Jennifer Carpenter – I’m so used to seeing Jennifer as Dexter’s tomboy sister that it’s weird to see her all glammed up.  I think the dress looks great – it fits well, good color on her and very different than the others. She could have accessorized a little better, but I like this look.
  • Cobie Smulders – I loved this dress and wish I had somewhere to wear it! This dress is the perfect shade of bright blue and fits Cobie so well. This may be my favorite dress of the night!

 

My Least Favorite Styles of the Night (again, in no particular order)

  • Kaley Cuoco – I think Kaley’s dress had potential, but the length made me not like the look. The dress should have been tea length and cut off below the knee, but instead it went to her ankles, which just seemed awkward. The black was also a little boring considering all the bright colors all over the Red Carpet.  
  • Claire Danes – This dress is all wrong! It fits her well, but way too much glitter and I LOVE glitter. I think her make-up was way overdone too. It just didn’t feel like her.
  • Melissa McCarthy – This was her night to shine and all I could focus on was the horrible dress. I realize that she isn’t super stick thin like most of Hollywood, but there are dresses that flatter every figure… and this one was not a winner. Although, I am a fan of the purple!
  • Katie Holmes – I love the color of this dress, but I think Katie can do better. It seems like she never got a fitting and put very little effort into the overall look; she couldn’t even manage to accessorize!
  • Minka Kelly – Minka’s dress was too matronly for my liking. She’s a Charlie’s Angel and this dress just didn’t represent that at all. I think she could have done better!

 

Somewhere in the Middle

  • Lea Michele – I’m still not sure how I feel about Lea’s dress. Last night I hated it, today its ok. I think Lea usually does better so there were some expectations for me that she just didn’t meet. I can’t get past the sleeves! I did find it interesting that Marchesa wouldn’t dress anyone but her, though. Definitely something to be proud of!
  • Aimee Teegarden – I like this dress a lot, but it felt a little too prom-like. I know she doesn’t go to award’s shows often, so maybe that had something to do with it, but I’m going to leave this dress in my so, so category.

 

The Show

Opening Dance/Song

Nicole: This wasn’t my favorite Emmy opening of all time, that’s for sure. I did enjoy seeing Ari Gold dance, and I LOVED the Friday Night Lights reference with Matt Saracen! Other than that, though, I wasn’t too impressed.

Katie: I didn’t love the Emmy opening this year. It felt like Jane Lynch was trying a bit too hard. It was great to see Ari and Lloyd from Entourage as well as some of the boys from Friday Night Lights, but overall I think they could have done a better job.

The A Cappella Singers

Nicole: I should preface this by saying that I’m a huge Zachary Levi fan, but I also wasn’t impressed with this bit. It seemed kind of random and definitely pointless. The only part that amused me was when LL Cool J came out near the end and did a rap interlude, so to speak. I don’t expect to see this bit back next year.

Katie: This whole thing was just weird and not funny. These poor actors, who are usually pretty good, looked like idiots the entire show. The Emmy’s were clearly looking to try something different this year to make the show more entertaining, but it just turned me off.

Comedy Awards

Nicole: Modern Family seriously cleaned up this year! I was surprised that Julie Bowen beat Sofia Vergara for Best Supporting Actress though. I think between the two of them, Sofia’s character is definitely funnier. I was, however, ecstatic about Ty Burrell’s win for Best Supporting Actor – I was really rooting for him! He gave a great speech, too – it’s making a lot of “Best Moments” lists.

Charlie Sheen was one of the presenters in this category and it turns out he can be totally normal! He even had well wishes for Ashton Kutcher and Two and a Half Men, which was nice. My favorite moment from the comedy section of the show was the Best Lead Actress category. Robe Lowe and Sofia Vergara were the presenters, and Amy Poehler kicked off a hilarious bit of all the nominees walking on stage when they were announced. Part of me thinks it might’ve been funnier if only Amy walked on stage, but I still enjoyed it. Melissa McCarthy won the award and she was promptly given roses and a tiara, resulting in her first and best pageant ever.

Katie: Let me just start by saying I HATED that the awards were split up into genre. Modern Family took almost every comedy award, which was expected, but I didn’t have to see the same three people over and over again. It got really boring rather quickly, but maybe that’s because I don’t watch the show.

In a surprising return, Charlie Sheen presented the award for Best Lead Actor in a Comedy Series, his former category. I still think Charlie Sheen is a bit of a nut job, but I was impressed that he came out and apologized in front of all of his peers on national television; with an ego like his, this move definitely look a lot. Chuck Lorre and the rest of the Two and Half Men crew should really appreciate the gesture. I was a little awkward while it was happening, but good for Charlie to stand up and admit he was wrong.

The other major standout from the Comedy section was the Best Lead Actress beauty pageant. Turns out this was Amy Poehler’s idea, which is totally not surprising. This was genius and I loved it, and I think the audience loved it as well. I was glad to see Melissa McCarthy take home the award, although I think this had more to do with her performance in Bridesmaids than Mike & Molly. Either way, she’ll always be Sookie to me, and I’ll take it.

The Office Skit

Nicole: This is definitely one of my favorite moments, if not my most favorite, from the show. This skit featured several cast members from The Office as well as appearances by Aziz Ansari, Tracy Morgan, John Slattery, Aaron Paul, Mariska Hargitay, Nathan Fillion, Amy Poehler, Kim Kardashian, Jim Parsons, Cee Lo Green in his chair from the voice and Ashton Kutcher. There was something so perfect about Creed buying crystal meth from Jesse Pinkman that made this skit Emmy-worthy in its own right, in my opinion at least.

Katie: I was a little confused when this skit started since I don’t watch The Office. It probably took me up until Mariska Hargitay to even realize other TV characters were added in! Oh well. This was just another failed attempt at the Emmy’s trying to be funny.

Reality/Variety Awards

Nicole: Since I don’t watch reality shows (or at least not any that were nominated), this section of the show wasn’t too exciting for me. However, I was sad Late Night with Jimmy Fallon lost to The Daily Show for Best Comedy/Variety Series, especially since The Daily Show wins it every year. Also during this section of the show, The Lonely Island performed a musical montage of some of their latest songs. As a fan of The Lonely Island, I was looking forward to this. And while Ed Helms and John Stamos singing a song about threeways was kind of funny, this whole bit was more awkward than entertaining.

Katie: I said before and I’ll say it again – there is no place for Reality TV in the Emmy awards. I get it, the crews work very hard to make these shows possible, but there is absolutely no creativity here.

As for the Variety Awards, I’m a little sick of seeing The Daily Show win. I really thought Jimmy Fallon had a shot this year! I was really impressed during the acceptance for Best Writing though when John Stewart shook hands with every single writer on his team and let the others speak on stage. He clearly appreciates the hard work of his staff and recognizes he wouldn’t be up there without them.

Ahh and then there is The Lonely Island. This entire thing was so awkward and once again, the Emmy’s trying to be cool. Andy Samberg and team are hilarious on SNL and have written some amazing digital shorts, but singing this at the Emmy’s just seemed inappropriate. And besides that, everyone up on stage was SUPER random and added to the weird factor.

Drama Awards

Nicole: This category started out great with a win for Friday Night Lights! Jason Katims won for Best Writing and it was definitely well-deserved. Ashton Kutcher was one of the presenters and I must say he was looking far from good. I don’t know what’s going on with his hair and beard, but that look is not working for him. I can only hope it’s from Two and a Half Men (and even then, it better be temporary) because I can’t believe he would choose to look like that on his own.

Margo Martindale won Best Supporting Actress for her role on Justified, which is one of my new favorite shows. I haven’t seen season two yet, which is the season she started on, so I don’t have an opinion, but based on what I’ve read it was a well-deserved win. Peter Dinklage won Best Supporting Actor for his role on Game of Thrones – another one of my new favorite shows. I was happy to see him win, but I wish he could’ve tied with Walton Goggins for Justified. I know I haven’t seen the latest season of that, but based on season one he is fantastic as well.

I was extremely sad to see Connie Britton lose Best Actress to Julianna Margulies. I feel like Julianna always wins, so her show must be good, but I think Connie absolutely deserved to win that. While that was disappointing for me, it was followed by an amazing moment – Kyle Chandler won Best Actor for his role as Coach Taylor. I was very torn on who I wanted to win since I love Michael C. Hall, but as soon as they called Kyle’s name I had no doubts whatsoever. And the cherry on top was that Minka Kelly, his former FNL costar, presented him with the award.

Katie: I was glad to see Friday Night Lights finally get the recognition they deserved! Jason Katims is a fantastic writer and Kyle Chandler as Coach Taylor is a fantastic actor. I was a little upset Connie Britton didn’t also walk away with the award – as fans of the show know, Coach is nothing without his wife, Tami. I guess it’s better late than never for the others thought! And how fitting that Minka Kelly was up on stage to present this award. Even though Minka didn’t make it back for the finale of FNL, it was great to see how excited she was for her old co-star.

The rest of the drama awards left no real surprises. Everyone talks about how great The Good Wife, Justified and Game of Thrones are. I just don’t happen to watch any of them.

Miniseries/Movie Awards

Nicole: This was another section that lost my interest since I watched exactly zero miniseries’ or movies this year. The cast of Entourage was the first to present in this category, and Jane Lynch introduced them with one of the funniest quotes of the night: “A lot of people are curious why I’m a lesbian. Ladies and gentleman, the cast of Entourage.” While I didn’t see Mildred Pierce, I was happy that Kate Winslet won for her role. That puts her one step closer to getting her EGOT – all she needs now is a Tony!

Katie: It was at this point that I fell asleep, so my knowledge of this category is pretty slim. I did catch the cast of Entourage, which was pretty exciting. It’s only been a week and I already miss them! Is that weird? And I guess not even the point of this category…

Outstanding Series Awards

Nicole: In true award show fashion, they saved the Outstanding Drama award and the Outstanding Comedy award for last. Mad Men won for drama, but I was really hoping to see Friday Night Lights or Dexter take that one home. Modern Family, continuing their hot streak of the night, won for comedy. I love Modern Family and was happy to see them win, but I would’ve been ok with Parks and Recreation winning too.

Katie: Similar to Nicole’s points above, I was hoping to see Friday Night Lights win for Outstanding Drama. The cast and crew did an amazing job for five seasons and never really got recognized for their work. It was, and probably will be for a very long time, one of the all-time best shows on TV. As for comedy, I wasn’t surprised to hear to Modern Family walked away with the Emmy for Outstand Comedy. It’s definitely a show already on my Netflix queue, but for now I’m just going off everyone else’s opinion.

Leave a Reply

