The day we’ve all been waiting for…

As I’m sure you’ve heard by now, the Primetime Emmy nominations were announced on Thursday morning. We here at Remotely Interesting decided this is the perfect opportunity for a joint post on our opinions and reactions to the nominees. We didn’t discuss our opinions with each other beforehand, so some might be exactly the same and others might be completely different!

Note: We’re sharing our picks for who we want to win, not necessarily who we think will win. Enjoy, and let us know in the comments who you’re rooting for!

OUTSTANDING DRAMA

Boardwalk Empire
Dexter
Friday Night Lights
Game of Thrones
The Good Wife
Mad Men

Nicole: Starting off with a hard one right off the bat! I’ve heard great things about Boardwalk Empire, The Good Wife and Game of Thrones, but I haven’t watched any of those shows. I just recently started Game of Thrones and plan to finish it this weekend, so my opinion might be different on Monday, but right now I’m torn between Dexter and Friday Night Lights for the win. Mad Men had a fantastic season as well, but my loyalties are really with the other two. Since I have to pick just one, I’m going with Friday Night Lights. It was an amazing show that never got the recognition it deserved, so I’d really like to see it win the Emmy this year.

Katie: My choice in this category and the winner never seem to match, but I’m hoping this year is different. I think all of the nominated shows are great and the casts & crews do amazing jobs, but Friday Night Lights is the clear winner in my book. The show is unlike any other on TV – the storylines are true to life, the acting is outstanding, and it’s filmed in such a way that watching you feel like you’re in Dillon, TX. TV shows don’t get much better than Friday Night Lights.

OUTSTANDING LEAD ACTRESS IN A DRAMA

Kathy Bates, Harry’s Law
Connie Britton, Friday Night Lights
Mireille Enos, The Killing
Mariska Hargitay, Law & Order: SVU
Julianna Margulies, The Good Wife
Elisabeth Moss, Mad Men

Nicole: Again, I only follow half of these shows – FNL, The Killing and Mad Men – but this one isn’t as difficult for me. I’d love to see Connie Britton win. She did an amazing job in her role as Tami Taylor in season five (and all seasons prior, for that matter) and really deserves to be recognized for it.

Katie: I love so many of these actresses, but how can Connie Britton not win after her amazing performance as Tami Taylor for the past five years? The show has received so little recognition, but continues to be one of the best on TV. Connie makes up half of the one of the greatest TV couples of all time – her and Kyle have fantastic chemistry, brought these characters to life and keep us wanting more. I really hope the voters realize how much she deserves this award.

OUTSTANDING LEAD ACTOR IN A DRAMA

Steve Buscemi, Boardwalk Empire
Kyle Chandler, Friday Night Lights
Michael C. Hall, Dexter
Jon Hamm, Mad Men
Hugh Laurie, House
Timothy Olyphant, Justified

Nicole: As with Best Drama, I’m torn between Michael C. Hall and Kyle Chandler. While many argue that season four (not season five) of Dexter was the best for both the show and Hall, I think the way he let down his guard and invited someone else into his world was very well done this past season. But, at the same time, Chandler’s Coach Taylor didn’t disappoint either. I won’t be disappointed if either one wins, but I think I’ll give my support to Chandler.

Katie: Many of these shows I’ve never seen before, but from past projects, I know these actors are all great. Once again, I’m leaning towards Friday Night Lights, and Kyle Chandler. He’s done an outstanding job playing Coach Eric Taylor the last five years and deserves to go out in style. I wouldn’t necessarily say that he’s any better or worse than the other nominees, but I want this so bad for him!

OUTSTANDING SUPPORTING ACTOR IN A DRAMA

Peter Dinklage, Game of Thrones
Josh Charles, The Good Wife
Alan Cumming, The Good Wife
Walton Goggins, Justified
John Slattery, Mad Men
Andre Braugher, Men of a Certain Age

Nicole: I only follow one of the shows in this category, so as a result I’m going to throw my support behind John Slattery. I will say, however, that in the one episode of Game of Thrones I’ve watched thus far, Peter Dinklage seems to be a good contender. But, I don’t think I can put my vote with him since I haven’t yet finished season one. We’ll see how I feel on Monday.

Katie: I have no strong feelings in this category one way or another, but if I had to choose, I would like to see Josh Charles win this award. I’ve been following his career since the early days with Dead Poet’s Society – one of the best movies ever made, I might add – and I think he does a great job in every role. Plus, he’s a local Maryland boy. =)

OUTSTANDING SUPPORTING ACTRESS IN A DRAMA

Kelly Macdonald, Boardwalk Empire
Archie Panjabi, The Good Wife
Christine Baranski, The Good Wife
Margo Martindale, Justified
Michelle Forbes, The Killing
Christina Hendricks, Mad Men

Nicole: Michelle Forbes and Christina Hendricks were both great this past season. It’s hard for me to like Forbes since her only other role I’m familiar with was that horrible woman on True Blood. But she did play the role of a grieving (and less than stellar) mother on The Killing quite well. She gets my vote for the win.

Katie: I’m over the whole Mad Men thing – think it’s old and overdone. I don’t have strong feelings in this category, but would like to see Christine Baranski win this one.

OUTSTANDING GUEST ACTOR IN A DRAMA

Bruce Dern, Big Love
Beau Bridges, Brothers & Sisters
Michael J. Fox, The Good Wife
Paul McCrane, Harry’s Law
Jeremy Davies, Justified
Robert Morse, Mad Men

Nicole: Similar to Supporting Actor, I only watch Mad Men on this list. Therefore, Robert Morse gets my vote!

Katie: If anyone but Michael J. Fox wins this award, than the Academy is crazy. He’s just so great and it’s a shame that he can’t take on a lead role anymore.  He’s guest starred in some of the top shows recently and is always a standout.

OUTSTANDING GUEST ACTRESS IN A DRAMA

Mary McDonnell, The Closer
Julia Stiles, Dexter
Loretta Devine, Grey’s Anatomy
Randee Heller, Man Men
Cara Buono, Mad Men
Joan Cusack, Shameless
Alfre Woodard, True Blood

Nicole: Julia Stiles! I think she did a great job of portraying the victimized and then vengeful Lumen on Dexter. She gets my vote.

Katie: I’m a little torn here – I think Julia Stiles was absolutely amazing in Dexter. I was a little hesitant when I heard she would be joining the show, but wow, what an amazing job. I honestly didn’t know she had it in her. But at the same time Loretta Devine shines playing Adele, the Chief’s wife, who happens to have early onset Alzheimer’s.  I think I’ll be happy either way, but what a toughy!

OUTSTANDING COMEDY

The Big Bang Theory
Glee
Modern Family
The Office
Parks and Recreation
30 Rock

Nicole: I’m very torn! I’ll apologize now to all my fellow Gleeks – I don’t think it gets my vote this year. I’ve narrowed it down to Modern Family and Parks and Recreation, but I’m not sure I can decide between the two! I already loved P&R, but the addition of Rob Lowe and Adam Scott really bolstered that love. At the same time, I love every single member of the Pritchett/Dunphy family. I promised myself I wouldn’t pick two winners for any category since that’s not likely to happen in real life, so I’ll go with Parks and Recreation.

Katie: Let me just start by saying I only watch one of these shows regularly, but have seen the others and know enough about them to make a solid decision (I think =)). Although I love Glee and think it was funny this season, it was too up and down. There were too many bad episodes, which unfortunately overshadow the good ones. The most consistently funny show on this list is Modern Family and they should take the prize.

OUTSTANDING LEAD ACTRESS IN A COMEDY

Edie Falco, Nurse Jackie
Tina Fey, 30 Rock
Laura Linney, The Big C
Melissa McCarthy, Mike & Molly
Martha Plimpton, Raising Hope
Amy Poehler, Parks and Recreation

Nicole: Amy Poehler is hilarious as Leslie Knope, and I’d like to see her win this year! I also love Tina Fey, and Laura Linney is great in The Big C as well, but I’m really pulling for Poehler (Alliteration not intended 🙂 )

Katie: This seems to be Melissa McCarthy’s year. After years of playing the sidekick to Lauren Graham, she finally gets to break free in Mike & Molly and show off the comedic chops many of us already knew she had. I think her role in Bridemaid’s will definitely help when it comes to voting – she clearly stole the show.

OUTSTANDING LEAD ACTOR IN A COMEDY

Alec Baldwin, 30 Rock
Louis C.K., Louie
Steve Carell, The Office
Johnny Galecki, The Big Bang Theory
Matt LeBlanc, Episodes
Jim Parsons, The Big Bang Theory

Nicole: This seems to be a pattern for me – I only watch half of the shows represented here and have therefore narrowed my choices down to Alec Baldwin, Steve Carell and Matt LeBlanc. I have to remind myself that as much as I love Joey Tribbiani, LeBlanc would not be winning for that role (Although I did enjoy him in Episodes.) Baldwin is always great, but I think I’d like to see Carell win it this year, especially since he hasn’t won before.

Katie: I’m a little surprised with this list of nominees – I don’t find Alex Baldwin to be that funny, Louis C.K.’s show isn’t very popular, Steve Carell is getting the “it’s your last season” vote, I was not impressed with Episodes, and although I’ve heard The Big Bang Theory is funny, I think it just looks weird. Can I vote for no one?

OUTSTANDING SUPPORTING ACTOR IN A COMEDY

Chris Colfer, Glee
Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Modern Family
Ed O’Neill, Modern Family
Eric Stonestreet, Modern Family
Ty Burrell, Modern Family
Jon Cryer, Two and a Half Men

Nicole: Wow! Four nominees from Modern Family! As great as all four of them are, and as much as they all deserve to win, my vote goes to Ty Burrell. I don’t know what it is about Phil Dunphy, but I cannot get enough! I really hope he wins it this year.

Katie: I think Jon Cryer is hilarious, but clearly someone from Modern Family is going to take away this one. Also, Chris Colfer was barely on Glee this season and should not be anywhere near this list. And when he was on, not so funny. Sorry Gleeks!

OUTSTANDING SUPPORTING ACTRESS IN A COMEDY

Jane Lynch, Glee
Betty White, Hot In Cleveland
Julie Bowen, Modern Family
Sofia Vergara, Modern Family
Kristen Wiig, Saturday Night Live
Jane Krakowski, 30 Rock

Nicole: I’m pulling for Sofia Vergara for this one. I’d like to see her get recognized for her very entertaining portrayal of Gloria. The Halloween episode when she fakes an American accent still makes me laugh!

Katie: I’m worried Jane Lynch is going to take this one since she’s the Emmy host, but I really hope that doesn’t happen. In fact, I want her off Glee all together, but that’s for another post. Anyway, my vote goes to Kristen Wiig. I know people are supposed to focus on her role on SNL, but I’m sure Bridemaids will be in the back of their minds.

OUTSTANDING GUEST ACTOR IN A COMEDY

Idris Elba, The Big C
Nathan Lane, Modern Family
Zach Galifianakis, Saturday Night Live
Justin Timberlake, Saturday Night Live
Matt Damon, 30 Rock
Will Arnett, 30 Rock

Nicole: This is difficult! It also marks the first category where I’ve seen everything nominated! I’ll veto Idris Elba because, similar to the Matt LeBlanc/Joey Tribbani thing, he wouldn’t be winning for his role as Stringer Bell. Nathan Lane, Zach Galifianakis and Justin Timberlake are always entertaining, but I think I can narrow this down to Matt Damon and Will Arnett. As much as I love Arnett, I think I’m leaning more towards Damon for this.

Katie: This is another one of those categories where I didn’t see any other their performances BUT to be fair have watched plenty of YouTube footage and read reviews. With that being said, I think Matt Damon should walk away with the Emmy. I don’t think people realize just how funny he can be, so its always great when he gets to show that side.

OUTSTANDING GUEST ACTRESS IN A COMEDY

Kristin Chenoweth, Glee
Dot-Marie Jones, Glee
Gwyneth Paltrow, Glee
Cloris Leachman, Raising Hope
Tina Fey, Saturday Night Live
Elizabeth Banks, 30 Rock

Nicole: Gwyneth Paltrow, Tina Fey and Elizabeth Banks are all favorites of mine. I’d be happy to see any of them win, but I’ll give my vote to Banks. She’s always entertaining as Avery on 30 Rock.

Katie: Up until Gwyneth Paltrow’s guest appearance on Glee, I thought she was terrible – impersonal, so-so actress, etc. But boy did she change my mind. I think this was the first time Gwyneth really showed she had any range. I thought she was funny, talented, and for once, likeable. She has gotten a ton of praise already for this role, so I think the Emmy is a no brainer.

OUTSTANDING REALITY SHOW HOST

Phil Keoghan, The Amazing Race
Ryan Seacrest, American Idol
Tom Bergeron, Dancing With the Stars
Cat Deeley, So You Think You Can Dance
Jeff Probst, Survivor

Nicole: Full disclosure: The only reality show I watch is The Voice. Since Carson Daly wasn’t nominated, I can’t pick a winner for this.

Katie: I don’t watch of these shows, nor do I care about any of these shows. The fact that reality TV is even a category is ridiculous. I think we should be embarrassed that reality TV is taking over television. The Emmy’s are about supporting the casts & crews for all of their hard work, and not that these hosts don’t work hard, but this is an entirely different ballgame. I’ll vote for a winner when they show me some talent.

OUTSTANDING REALITY SHOW COMPETITION

The Amazing Race, CBS
American Idol, Fox
Dancing With the Stars, ABC
Project Runway, Lifetime
So You Think You Can Dance, Fox
Top Chef, Bravo

Nicole: Same issue as above, I don’t watch any of these shows. No vote from me!

Katie: Similar to above, I think this category is a waste of time. I have no preference here.

OUTSTANDING VARIETY, MUSIC, OR COMEDY SERIES

The Colbert Report, Comedy Central
Conan, TBS
The Daily Show With Jon Stewart, Comedy Central
Late Night With Jimmy Fallon, NBC
Real Time With Bill Maher, HBO
Saturday Night Live, NBC

Nicole: First of all, I’d like to point out that Conan was nominated and Jay Leno was not! Not that I’m still bitter about that debacle… Anyway, Late Night with Jimmy Fallon gets my vote 100%. I think he has the most entertaining late night program, mostly because he does the late night hashtags and plays charades and beer pong.

Katie: Hands down, Jimmy Fallon takes this one. He’s made late night TV fun again: Letterman is a cranky old man, Leno & Conan are not at ALL funny (so get over the comparison already, they both suck) and Ferguson is too all over the place to conduct an interview. The other nominees (minus Conan & SNL even) are pretty funny, but Jimmy has taken over.

Leave a Reply

