The Voice: Live Show #3

OH BOY! The Voice is getting intense!

First, I want to say that I’m happy with the final two for Adam and Cee Lo. For Team Adam, America saved Javier Colon (which was not surprising) and Adam saved Casey Weston. On Team Cee Lo, America saved Vicci (again, not surprising) and Cee Lo saved Nakia. I know I said I would like to see Curtis Grimes advance, but the more I thought about it the more I realized Nakia was a stronger choice.

But let’s get to what’s really important here — the performances!

Frenchie Davis (Team Christina) – “Like a Prayer”: AWESOME! Frenchie’s ability to hit (and hold!) several high notes is amazing! I think Blake summed it up the best when he said her performance was “a giant middle finger” to anyone who thought Christina made the wrong choice by saving her.

Nakia (Team Cee Lo) – “What Do You Want From Me”: Also a great performance. Nakia is always one to work the crowd when he performs, and tonight was no different. After his song, Cee Lo pointed out that his whole team was wearing black and white (rather than the usual black and red) because black and white “is the color of big business.” I’m not entirely sure what that means, but it must’ve been true because both of his singers rocked.

Dia Frampton (Team Blake) – “Losing My Religion”: As you may have guessed by now, Dia might be my favorite to win the whole thing. Last night she sang a Dia-ized version of Losing My Religion, which did not disappoint. Her performances are always so amazing that there’s really nothing Blake needs to say to her. Last night he opted for “Gosh dangit I’m glad to know you!”

Casey Weston (Team Adam) – “I Will Always Love You”: Last week, Adam advised Casey to sing an upbeat rendition of Black Horse and the Cherry Tree rather than a slow/acoustic version, which I thought was fantastic advice. However, this week he had her sing a Whitney Houston song, which I thought was bold. If it were Frenchie, I would say give her a Whitney song and she’ll knock it out of the park. But Casey…I’m not sure her voice can handle that. I thought it started out a bit shaky (maybe that was just my skepticism taking over), but it got better as she continued. Honestly, I don’t think she has a chance to continue since she’s up again Javier. She needed all the help she could get, and I don’t think that song was the answer. But, the judges all seemed to like it. Blake (who clearly had a plethora of one-liners last night) even said “I don’t know when we’re gonna start talkin’ about how freakin’ hot she is!”

Beverly McClellan (Team Christina) – “The Thrill is Gone”: Beverly is really growing on me. I think Team Christina is the only team in the competition where I can’t predict who is going to continue. Both of her singers are so strong, and Beverly is very aware of her competition. In the reality reel before her performance, she said “I would like to win because I’d like to give my music wings. The wings it hasn’t had for 20 years.”  I wasn’t familiar with the song before she sang it (a statement Adam said a couple times last night as well!), but she made me like it.

Javier Colon (Team Adam) – “Fix You”: I’ll admit, I had a hard time focusing on the performance because it was the first time we’ve seen Javier without his hat on. I didn’t realize that was going to be a distraction for everyone, but the judges spent more time talking about his head than his singing. Blake even said “I’m so pissed I wasn’t over there to catch that hat!” His performance, of course, was amazing. It always is. Dia might be my favorite, but Javier is a (very) close second!

Xenia (Team Blake) – “The Man Who Can’t Be Moved”: Another song I’ve never heard of before, but I enjoyed Xenia’s performance. She seemed more confident than she did last time, which was good. I thought she struggled a bit to hit some of the notes in the song, but I really like her so I won’t hold it against her. Similar to the Team Adam situation, though, I don’t think she has a chance against Dia to advance.

Vicci Martinez (Team Cee Lo) – “Dog Days Are Over”: What a way to end the show! She did a great job with this song. I loved the synchronized drumming and the fact that she was able to run all around the stage and not get winded. Her mic pack even fell out at one point, but she didn’t let it slow her down. I was also kinda digging her faux hawk-type hair do…very rock n roll.

Halfway through these performances, Maroon 5 performed their new single, Moves Like Jagger, featuring Christina Aguilera (or as Blake has been calling her lately, Christina Argue-lera). I love the song! I read something this morning that said this performance was actually pre-recorded, which explains Adam’s super fast wardrobe change. Speaking of which, he certainly wears a suit well. At the end of the song, Carson addressed the rumors that Adam and Christina don’t get a long by saying “Let’s give it up for your judges…who clearly like each other.” Later on, Blake Shelton also performed his current single, Honey Bee. Dia and Xenia even joined him on stage to help him finish out the song, which was a nice surprise.

The results show will be live tonight as opposed to next week, so we’ll get to find out the winners very soon! The judges will score their singers, and that’ll be combined with America’s votes to choose the winners. So, who do you want to want to see advance?

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

