I Need to Know What ‘The Event’ Actually Was!

It’s old news that NBC cancelled The Event, and considering it didn’t make it to season 2 there probably aren’t many people who care. I, however, care a great deal. I started recording it from the beginning but never got around to watching it (a problem I often have since I overachieve when it comes to watching TV). Then my DVR broke (that was a tragic day) and I lost it all and didn’t plan to make an effort to find it elsewhere. But then, Jason Ritter tweeted and said the first half of the season was available ondemand for a few more days. Seeing as though I’m always up for the challenge of watching excessive amounts of TV before it’s taken away, I decided to give it a shot.

My initial interest in the show was because I’m a fan of Jason Ritter. The whole alien thing didn’t really appeal to me, but I figured I’d give it a shot for him. As the show went on, though, I became less and less interested in his character and more interested in the White House story lines (of course, it all intertwines). I think it’s because I really like Željko Ivanek and Ian Anthony Dale. But I digress…

I was surprised to hear it was cancelled only because I remember Jason Ritter talking in an interview back in September about how the writers wrote five full seasons from beginning to end and sold it as a five-year deal. I must’ve misheard or he must’ve misspoke because that does not appear to be the case. But, since the writers planned for five years, the end of season one did not wrap anything up. That’s no way to end a show that’s never coming back! I need answers!!

I read on Deadline that SyFy might pick it up as a miniseries, and if it does well it could lead to another season. I really hope that happens because one way or another, I need to find out what “the event” actually is!

The only positive outcome of canceling this show would be if Jason Ritter goes back to Parenthood. I don’t know what it is about him and Lauren Graham together, but I like it!

-Nicole

UPDATED 6/9: I just read an article on About.com saying Syfy is not picking the show up. Craig Engler, a senior executive at Syfy tweeted: “To answer some questions I’ve been getting, at this time we have no plans to pick up The Event.”

Sad 😦 You can read the rest of the article here, if you want.

Leave a Reply

